Google Drive users can no longer block someone in trusted domains
In July 2021, Google added the ability to block another user in Google Drive and now the feature has been updated to prevent users from blocking other users in trusted domains.
In addition, Google noted that all previous blocks established for users in trusted domains will no longer be applied in Google Drive, but will continue to be applied in other apps and services.
“Based on your feedback, we’re updating how the feature can be applied to users in trusted domains. Previously, user blocks could be applied to any user outside of your domain. With this update , user blocks will no longer work with users in trusted domains, ”Google wrote in a blog post.
When you block someone in Google Drive:
- They won’t be able to share files with you.
- You won’t be able to share files with them unless you unblock them first.
- They won’t be able to access any of your files, and you won’t be able to access any of theirs.
The update capability in Google Drive is rolled out in both the Quick Release and Scheduled Release areas and may take up to 15 days for full visibility. It will be available to all Google Workspace customers, as well as to G Suite Basic and Business customers.